G1 Climax 29: Korakuen Hall
Tiger Driver
Lou Pickney presents:
Tiger Driver

New Japan World:
Best Matches
Under the Radar

Other Resources:
Albert Snow's list
Wrestling Observer
Video on Odysee

AJ Styles

My Other Pages:
Ace Purple

Lou on Twitter
Lou on Instagram
Lou on Twitch
Fire Pro World Fan
Fire Pro: Mod Files

Crypto Info

G1 Climax 29: Korakuen Hall

July 17, 2019
By: Lou Pickney

New Japan Pro-Wrestling's G1 Climax 29 is in full swing, with four shows in the books and a three-show run at Korakuen Hall in Tokyo upcoming over the next three days. It's a 5:30 a.m. EDT start time for each show.

The G1 is a two-block round-robin tournament with ten wrestlers per block. The wrestler with the most points at the top of each block face off in the G1 Final, which is being held for a second consecutive year at Nippon Budakon in Tokyo.

It's nine G1 matches per wrestler, meaning a maximum of 18 points can be earned. A participant receives two points for a win, one point for a time limit draw, and zero points for a loss.

A double countout or double DQ gives zero points to both wrestlers in a given match, but that hasn't happened since 2004 and would seem to be extremely unlikely.

For the tiebreaker it's head-to-head and then a coin toss, though a coin toss scenario hasn't happened since 2009. And, much like a DCOR or DDQ, it's unlikely to come into play.


A Block
4: Kazuchika Okada, KENTA, Lance Archer
2: Bad Luck Fale, EVIL, Sanada, Will Ospreay
0: Hiroshi Tanahashi, Kota Ibushi, Zack Sabre Jr.

B Block
4: Jon Moxley, Juice Robinson, Tomohiro Ishii
2: Hirooki Goto, Shingo Takagi, Taichi, Toru Yano
0: Jay White, Jeff Cobb, Tetsuya Naito

Upcoming Schedule

Korakuen July 18 (A Block)
1. Tomohiro Ishii & Yuya Uemura vs. Jon Moxley & Shota Umino
2. Juice Robinson & Toa Henare & Yota Tsuji vs. Jeff Cobb & Hirooki Goto & Yoshi-Hashi
3. Toru Yano & Tomoaki Honma & Ren Narita vs. Jay White & Yujiro Takahashi & Chase Owens
4. Shingo Takagi & Tetsuya Naito & BUSHI vs. Taichi & Minoru Suzuki & Yoshinobu Kanemaru
5. G1: KENTA (4) vs. Lance Archer (4)
6. G1: EVIL (2) vs. Sanada (2)
7. G1: Kazuchika Okada (4) vs. Bad Luck Fale (2)
8. G1: Hiroshi Tanahashi (0) vs. Zack Sabre Jr. (0)
9. G1: Kota Ibushi (0) vs. Will Ospreay (2)

Korakuen July 19 (B Block)
1. Zack Sabre Jr. & Yoshinobu Kanemaru vs. Bad Luck Fale & Chase Owens
2. Hiroshi Tanahashi & Tomoaki Honma vs. Lance Archer & Minoru Suzuki
3. Kota Ibushi & KENTA & Clark Connors vs. Sanada & EVIL & BUSHI
4. Kazuchika Okada & Yoshi-Hashi vs. Will Ospreay & Toa Henare
5. G1: Shingo Takagi (2) vs. Taichi (2)
6. G1: Juice Robinson (4) vs. Jeff Cobb (0)
7. G1: Toru Yano (2) vs Jay White (0)
8. G1: Hirooki Goto (2) vs. Tetsuya Naito (0)
9. G1: Tomohiro Ishii (4) vs. Jon Moxley (4)

Korakuen July 20 (A Block)
1. Juice Robinson & Yota Tsuji vs. Jon Moxley & Shota Umino
2. Hirooki Goto & Toru Yano & Yuya Uemura vs. Taichi & Minoru Suzuki & Yoshinobu Kanemaru
3. Jeff Cobb & Tomoaki Honma & Toa Henare vs. Jay White & Yujiro Takahashi & Chase Owens
4. Tomohiro Ishii & Yoshi-Hashi & Ren Narita vs. Tetsuya Naito & Shingo Takagi & BUSHI
5. G1: Zack Sabre Jr. vs. Bad Luck Fale
6. G1: Hiroshi Tanahashi vs. Lance Archer
7. G1: KENTA vs. EVIL
8. G1: Kota Ibushi vs. Sanada
9. G1: Kazuchika Okada vs. Will Ospreay

Recommended viewing: Kristine Leahy interviewing Bayley and being shocked that WWE's supposed superstars (carny for worker bees in 2019) have to drive themselves from city to city and lack any sort of collective bargaining agreement.

See any mistakes, omissions, or needed corrections? Please let me know: @LouPickney

Except where otherwise noted, all content on this website is copyright © 2017-2022 Lou Pickney, all rights reserved.
The views expressed on this website are mine alone and do not necessarily reflect those of any media company.
This website is not affiliated with New Japan Pro-Wrestling or New Japan World.